Prev Question
Next Question

What is the result of a “Consolidate” action on a virtual machine?

A.
All snapshots on the virtual machines will be deleted.

B.
The virtual machine will be reverted to its last snapshot.

C.
Redundant delta disks will be combined and deleted.

D.
A new snapshot with memory state will be created.

Explanation:
When initiating a snapshot delete action, the delta disk changes are then written to the base or parent VMDKfile and the snapshot is deleted. With vSphere 5, a new option called consolidate was introduced. The purpose
of consolidate is if the snapshot deletion process was not successful. In the past there were incidents where a
user would initiate a snapshot deletion thinking the snapshot got deleted, yet to find out later that that’s not the
case. With the consolidation option, when you initiate a snapshot deletion, if the snapshot fails to delete, the VM
will then generate a warning letting you know that a consolidation is required. You would then run the snapshot
consolidation option and the snapshot would get committed.
https://communities.vmware.com/thread/480190

Prev Question
Next Question

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *